The Bureau is a group of CoR members that can be thought of as CoR's political driving force: it draws up its political programme and oversees its implementation. The Bureau meets before each plenary session to coordinate the work of the plenary assembly and the commissions. It also gathers two times a year in extraordinary meetings in the EU country holding the Presidency of the Council of the EU.

Does the Bureau also have a political term? How long does it last?​

Just like the President, the Bureau has a term of two and half years.​

What is its composition?

The Bureau reflects the political pluralism within the CoR. It is composed of:

  • President

  • First Vice-President

  • 27 other Vice-Presidents (one for each Member State)

  • 26​ other members

  • chairmen of the political groups​

France, Germany, Italy, Poland and Spain have each three seats. Austri​a, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Lithuania, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia and Sweden each have t​​​​​​​​wo seats. Cyprus, Estonia, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta and Slovenia have one seat each.​

What are the tasks of the Bureau?

The main tasks of the Bureau are establishing and monitoring the implementation CoR's political programme, as well as coordinating the work of the plenary assembly and commissions.​


  1. Bureau members 157.26 KB PDF
  2. 2021 CoR Meetings Calendar 180.71 KB PDF
  3. 2022 CoR Meetings Calendar 192.73 KB PDF
Back to top