Invitation to 100 young elected local leaders 

The Summit will also gather 100 young elected politicians from EU regions and cities to discuss the future of Europe.
Interested politicians being not older than 40 are invited to apply by 18 January 2019.
The list of selected young politicians will be finalised by the European Committee of the Regions and applicants will be informed accordingly.


Karl-Heinz Lambertz
President of the European Committee of the Regions​

Vasilica-Viorica Dăncilă

​Prime Minister of Romania​

Donald Tusk

​President of the European Council (tbc)​

Jean-Claude Juncker

​President of the European Commission (tbc)​

Robert Sorin Negoiță

​President of the Romanian Delegation to the European Committee of the Regions

Philippe Close

Mayor of the City of Brussels

Vasco Alves Cordeiro

President of the Conference of Peripheral and Maritime Regions of Europe and of the Regional Government of the Azores, Portugal

Corina Crețu

European Commissioner for Regional Policy

Oliver Paasch

Minister-President of the German Speaking Community of Belgium and President of the Association of European Border Regions

Luca Jahier

​President of the European Economic and Social Committee

Markku Markkula

First Vice-President of the CoR

Iñigo Urkullu Renteria

President of the Regional Government of the Basque Country

Nils Ušakovs
Chairman of Riga City Council
Bettina Vollath

​President of Styria's Parliament

The EU's local and regional governments are key players in strengthening European democracy and identity.
Regions, cities and their leaders are important for the delivery of a sustainable, competitive and fair European Union.
Solidarity among EU Member States, regions and cities must be at the heart of the European Union to deliver an even more sustainable and competitive Europe.