Click here to get an automatic translation of the text below.
Stakeholders' consultation on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): a basis for a long-term Europe by 2030  

Following the publication of the Reflection Paper Towards a Sustainable Europe by 2030, the European Committee of the Regions (CoR) will be drafting an opinion on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): a basis for a long-term EU strategy for a sustainable Europe by 2030.

The Rapporteur Mr Arnoldas Abramavicius (LT/EPP), deputy mayor of Zarasai city in Lithuania, and his expert, would be happy to meet with you on Tuesday, 5 March 2019 at 15:00-16:30 in room JDE 52 of the Committee of the Regions building (Rue Belliard 101, B-1040 Brussels).

The meeting will be held in English.

Mr Abramavičius is representing the CoR at the EU Multi-stakeholders Platform on SDGs; he has been actively involved in drafting of the platform's recommendations for the European Commission's Reflection Paper. He is looking forward to continuing working with academia, NGOs, businesses, farmers, trade unions and youth organisations; he is also determined to highlighting how regions and cities can be a game changer in the implementation of SDGs and further mobilise them on this topic.

Mr Abramavičius has prepared a Document for Debate, which we are updating in light of the Reflection Paper.

Helena Braun, Member of Cabinet of European Commission First-Vice President, Frans Timmermans, will also participate in the debate.


Do you wish to share a position paper on this topic? Feel free to send it to us before the debate, at

Please register via the registration form

Adoption calendar of the opinion

  • 25 March: deadline for the rapporteur to submit his draft opinion (with political recommendations)
  • 11 April: deadline for ECON members to table amendments to the text
  • 6 May: adoption a the ECON commission meeting in Lithuania
  • 26-27 June: adoption at Plenary Session

   Mr Abramavicius meeting EC 1st Vice-President Frans Timmermans and EC Vice-President Jyrki Katainen    
Arnoldas Abramavičius meeting EC First Vice-President Frans Timmermans and EC Vice-President Jyrki Katainen

Contact Person: Audrey Parizel
Organizer: European Committee of the Regions, ECON Secretariat
Share :