National Delegation 

National Delegation of Croatia

​The Croatian delegation is consisted of nine members and an equal number of alternates. Four members represent the regional authorities (counties) while five members represent the local authorities (cities, towns and municipalities). ​


​​​Appointing the delegation

Candidates for the members and alternates of the national delegation are proposed by three national associations of local and regional authorities in Croatia. Each association proposes the agreed number of candidates from the ranks of their members. The Croatian County Association nominates four members and alternates, the Association of Cities in the Republic of Croatia nominates three members and alternates, and the Association of Municipalities in the Republic of Croatia nominates two members and alternates.

The National delegation coordinator sends the list of nominated candidates to the Ministry of administration. The Ministry proposes the nominated candidates to the Government of the Republic of Croatia for the approval. The selection process of members and alternates is formalized by the adoption of Government's Decision for nomination of members and alternate members to the Committee of the Regions.

Interesting​​ facts

The oldest known statute of Croatian medieval commune is the statute of Korčula from the year 1214.

In the year 1416 Dubrovnik adopted the abolition of slavery, which was the first case of its kind in Europe.

The City of Rijeka 'changed' six countries during the XXth century: the Austro-Hungarian Empire, the Free State of Fiume, the Kingdom of Italy, the Third Reich, the Socialist Federative Republic of Yugoslavia and the Republic of Croatia.

In the year 1987 a 5-billionth inhabitant on planet Earth was born in the City of Zagreb.

After the 2004 Olympic games, the City of Split was allegedly the town with highest number of won Olympic medals per inhabitant in the world.

According to the 2011 census, the smallest local authority in Croatia is the Municipality of Civljane with 240 inhabitants and the largest is the City of Zagreb with 792 000 inhabitants.

Local elections are held every four years on the third Sunday in May (the last one, seventh by order since the independence, was held in May 2017).


+385 20 351402
zupan@dubrovnik-neretva.hrPred Dvorom 1
20000 Dubrovnik


    Marko ERCEGOVIĆ 
    +385 1 4668003
    +385 1 4668006
    marko@udruga-gradova.hrPalmotićeva 25
    10000 Zagreb
  • Luka VIDAK
    Luka VIDAK 
    +385 20 351419
    +385 99 4288382
    luka.vidak@dnz.hrPred dvorom 1
    20000 Dubrovnik
Back to top