National Delegation 

National Delegation of Germany

​The Federal Republic of Germany is represented in the Committee of the Regions by 24 members and their 24 alternates. These members are elected representatives of a regional or local authority or are accountable to an elected assembly.


​Appointin​​g the delegation

The delegation is made up of:

  • 24 members and their 24 alternates who represent the 16 federal state governments or parliaments in Germany. Five seats are rotated between the states on the basis of population size

  • three members and their three alternates who represent the three local authority organisations (DeutscherStädtetag, Deutscher Landkreistag, Deutscher Städte- und Gemeindebund)

(MPK - Ministerpräsidentenkonferenz = conference of the states' prime ministers- Resolution of 27 May 1993)

Compositio​​n of the German delegation

The federal government forwards to the Council of Ministers of the European Union the names of members and alternates who have been nominated by the states and local authority organisations for appointment to the Committee. The Council appoints the members. (§14 EUZBLG - Federal Government and Länder Cooperation - European Union Matters - Law).

Orga​nisation and political representation

The German delegation holds a working meeting two weeks before each plenary session to discuss joint amendments and the content of opinions, as well as to address organisational issues. In addition, monthly coordinators' meetings act as a forum for exchange on the out​come of the various commission meetings. The delegation also holds a political meeting immediately before every plenary session to reach agreement on the political approach to be adopted, taking into account the position of the German Bundesrat (upper chamber of the federal parliament)


Isolde RIES
Isolde RIES 
+49 177 7020168
isolde.ries@saarbruecken.deBurbacher Markt 20
66115 Saarbrücken


Back to top