ARLEM brings together 80 Members from the EU and its 15 Mediterranean partners who are representatives of regions and local bodies and hold a regional or local authority mandate.


ARLEM is chaired by a co-presidency equally representing the Mediterranean partners and the EU. The co-president from the Mediterranean partners' group is confirmed by consensus by that group for a period of two and a half years. The co-president from the EU is the CoR president-in-office.

Composition ARLEM full list

The current co-presidents are:


Mr Karl-Heinz Lambertz
President of the Committee of the Regions
Mr  Mohamed Boudra
President of the Moroccan Association of Presidents of the Municipal Councils (AMPCC) and President of the Commune of AL Hoceima


The Bureau defines the work programme of the Assembly and submits it to the plenary for approval. It is responsible for the preparation of the yearly report and recommends to the plenary session the date, place and topics for the next ARLEM meeting. The Bureau meets in camera.

Composition Bureau


ARLEM's Commission for Sustainable Territorial Development was created following the decision of the 6th ARLEM Plenary Session held in Antalya on 15 December 2014.
It issues draft reports that are submitted to the annual ARLEM Plenary Session for adoption. The first meeting of this commission will be held in 2015.
Informazioni correlate


AR - EN - FR


Co-Presidency Mandates

  • Since July 2017: Mr Lambertz and Mr Boudra
  • February 2015 – July 2017: Mr Markkula and Mr Abdelmasih
  • June 2014 - February 2015:
    Mr Lebrun and
    Mr Abdel-Rahman
  • August 2012-June 2014:  
    Mr Valcárcel and
    Mr Abdel-Rahman
  • February 2010- July 2012:
    Ms Bresso and Mr Boudra 
  • Beginning 2010: Mr Van den Brande and Mr Boudra