• /Alternates

    Stephen ALAMBRITIS

    Leader of London Borough of Merton

  • Jennette ARNOLD

    Assembly Member, Greater London Authority

  • Albert BORE

    Member of Birmingham City Council

    West Midlands (England)
  • Anthony Gerard BUCHANAN

    Councillor East Renfrewshire Council

  • Joseph COONEY

    Leader of Pendle Council

    North West (England)
  • Andrew Varah COOPER

    Member of Kirklees Council

    Yorkshire and The Humber
  • Trevor CUMMINGS

    Member of Ards Borough Council

    Northern Ireland
  • Mairi Angela GOUGEON

    Member of the Scottish Parliament

  • Judith HUGHES

    Member of Kirklees Council

    Yorkshire and The Humber
  • Margaret LISHMAN

    Member of Burnley Council

    North West (England)
  • Kevin PEEL

    Member of Manchester City Council

    North West (England)
  • Dee SHARPE

    Member of East Riding of Yorkshire Council

    Yorkshire and The Humber
  • Harvey SIGGS

    Member of Mendip Council

    South West (England)
  • David SIMMONDS

    Councillor, London Borough of Hillingdon

    South East (England)
  • Judith Anne WALLACE

    Member of North Tyneside Council

    North East (England)
  • Emily WESTLEY

    Member of Hastings Council

    South East (England)

  • The United Kingdom is an asymmetrically decentralised unitary state. There are 55 unitary authorities ('Councils') in England; Wales has 22 unitary Councils; Scotland is divided into 32 directly-elected unitary Councils; Northern Ireland has 11 local Councils. 



Below you find some news in English. For more news in the country's language see top right of page to switch language.

More news


Keep up-to-date with all the news from the Committee of the Regions. Subscribe to our monthly eNewsletter.

In the Media

Your country in Europe