National Delegation of Austria

Head of Delegation

Dr. Herwig van Staa
Landtagpräsident von Tirol
Eduard-Wallnöfer-Platz 3
6020 Innsbruck
Tel.: +43 512 5083003
Fax: +43 512 5083005



List of Members


Head of External Relations
Provincial government of Tyrol
A-6020 Innsbruck
Tel.: +43 512 508 2340
Fax: +43 512 508 2345

Deputy Coordinator 

EU-Representation of the Region Burgenland
Avenue de Tervuren 58
B-1040 Brussels
Tel. +32 2 2743 85 04
Tel. +43 2686 600 2792


Austria has 12 members and 12 alternates in the Committee of the Regions, who hold a regional or local electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly. Each of Austria 's nine provinces sends one member and one alternate to the CoR, and local authorities send three members and three alternates.

Composition of the Austrian delegation

The members of the Austrian delegation are selected by the Austrian federal government on the basis of proposals made by the provinces, and by the Austrian Association of Cities and Towns and the Austrian Association of Municipalities.

Organisation and political guidelines

The Austrian delegation meets two weeks before every plenary session at the level of assistants, in order to discuss the upcoming plenary, and in particular joint amendments, as well as basic questions of substance and organisation. To secure a better overview of activities in the commissions and other working bodies, a special reporting system has been set up whereby one assistant provides a written report on meetings of CoR bodies and recommendations for action. The coordination office of the Länder operates as the secretariat for the delegation briefing at political level and for the plenary session itself.

Regional and local remits

Austria is a federal state. The federation comprises the following independent provinces: Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg , Styria, Tyrol, Vorarlberg and Vienna . Legislative and executive powers are shared between the federal government and the provinces. The provinces have legislative powers in areas such as environmental protection, spatial planning and planning law. Each province has its own parliament, the Landtag, whose members are elected every five years by general and free elections. The Landtag elects the provincial government, led by the provincial governor, who represents the province in external affairs.

The municipalities and cities are the lowest organisational tier of government; they have no major legislative powers, but they can adopt bye-laws and they have public administrative responsibilities. The principle of municipal self-government is enshrined in the constitution.

Related Information